Sweeney Todd

There’s a whole in the world like a great black pit
and the vermin of the world inhabit it
and its morals aren’t worth what a pin can spit
and it goes by the name of London.
At the top of the hole sit the privileged few
Making mock of the vermin in the lonely zoo
turning beauty to filth and greed…
I too have sailed the world and seen its wonders,
for the cruelty of men is as wonderous as Peru
but there’s no place like London!

There was a barber and his wife
and she was beautiful…
a foolish barber and his wife.
She was his reason for his life…
and she was beautiful, and she was virtuous.
And he was naive.
There was another man who saw
that she was beautiful…
A biased vulture of the law
who, with a gesture of his claw
removed the barber from his plate!
And there was nothing but to wait!
And she would fall!
So soft!
So young!
So lost and oh so beautiful!

There’s a hole in the world like a great black pit
and it’s filled with people who are filled with shit!
And the vermin of the world inhabit it!

Review

Taking a cue from Jelly, I decided to throw my two cents in on movies that I’d care to review! (The song totally had me laughing). I totally loved it! Jaded as I am with gratuitous blood and violence and super rich textures making my eyes pop, this movie did not make me squeamish in the least. The story, sad and dark, did not leave me feeling like my dog just got run over the way some other, more bleak (I Am Legend) movies have. First off I love Johnny Depp with everything that I have and have been totally his forever since I first stalked him on 21 Jump Street. Don’t act like you don’t know what I’m talking about! We all know you watched it too! So, in my opinion, there is not much he can do wrong. Even playing the Demon Barber of Fleet Street, I found him endearing. It’s ok Sweeney! You slit their throats… I’ll make pie 😉

I have friends that have said that the blood-spurting graphics were gratuitous and way too much for them. Does it make me strange that I found it humorous? Not sure if I should share that but I’m fairly certain the movie was intended to be funny in a dark way. To me, those scenes of throat slittage were not so much gratuitous as they were necessary to continue to flaunt the true evilness and loss of humanity that Todd had suffered as a result of apparently LOSING HIS MIND.

And lovely Mrs. Lovett… how sad and tragic she was. True she most likely didn’t have alot of moral backbone to begin with, what with her dirty, disgusting, and failing meat (and bug!) pie business. But her obsession with Todd really does bring out the worst in her. And, interestingly enough, is the inspiration to become rich and prosperous selling a different kind of -MEAT- pies later in the story! Can you really blame her though? I mean look at that man… dangerous, dark, menacing, handy with a razor? *swoon*

I don’t pretend to know anymore about this story or it’s Literary Historical value or lack there of (and really can’t be bothered), but if you are interested you can look here.

Fashion Interpretation

Because fashion must play into it. I have to say that with her deep intensity I could get behind Mrs. Lovett’s hopeless infatuation with Mr. Todd. This is me as Mrs. Lovett’s arch enemy Mrs. Shark. I’d give that dirty baker a run for her whoring money! Devilish with scary hair and my heart about to burst from outside my chest at the mere sight of the deranged and totally without a soul Mr. Todd. Ok, so well it’s my interpretation but then again I don’t really have much to do with costume design for period pieces… so I make do!

Dress: Mistress Midnight: Gothic Ribbon Dress

Hair: Helyanwe Vindaloo: Spin Blonde (might not be still available, not sure!)

Skin: Deviant Kitties (Helyanwe Vindaloo): Lashes Tan

Cuts, Bruises and Contusions: D3volution: Mayhem: Cuts, Bruises, and Contusions (on undershirt, underwear, sock, and glove layers).

Leave a Reply

